Can games for young kids sell on the Xbox

Since the launch of the Xbox, Microsoft has been pretty consistent in making sure that steer they well and truly clear of the games market for very young children. I am not sure if they believe it would be un-cool to have kids games on the Xbox or not, but it has fallen on the shoulders of the independent developers to bring titles to the machine.

In the development community there has been a lot of discussion as to whether or not the Xbox can take on a market dominated by V-Tech and luckily some independents are willing to give it a go.

Kissypoo looks like a very simple game that has the balance of good visuals and simple game play that should appeal to the very young gamer.

With the growing number of games available in XBLIG Educational and Family section, the addition of Kissypoo to other great kids titles like Find Teddy and Flash Cards For Kids is very welcome. Let’s hope that MS and gaming parents out there realise that you don’t have to just fob your child off with a switched off controller!

You can have fun and help educate the little ones all thanks to some XBLIG developers that are willing to take a chance and have a go at taking a little piece of V-techs pie.

4 Responses

  1. If I can just get my update out, Flash Cards for Kids will have more content as well!

    I have to say my young one likes playing Kissy Poo, and the latest updates to that game are looking nice.

  2. I haven’t yet tried this. I should let my son (3 and a half) have a go at it.

    My son actually loves playing 360 and NDS games, I’m amazed sometimes watching him play a game and wondering how he knows what he’s doing. He loves playing the Spiderman game and the ‘kids’ games like Kung Fu Panda and Ice Age 3. He totally understands how controller movements relate to the character in the 3D world which I think is amazing for a 3 year old.

    I didn’t get my first taste of games till I was about 7 or 8 on our old Speccy +2 (which also gave me my first taste of programming :)).

  3. Avatar Dron on XBLIG is another game that kids love and the whole family can play it.

  4. I’m not sure if that’s Microsoft’s attitude anymore. We’re seeing more and more kids games come to XBLA like for instance Tower Bloxx Deluxe just a couple of weeks ago. Couldn’t get more “family” than that and it’s definitely meant for the little ones of the family too.

Leave a Reply

